Hyndburn Cross Country

The third Mid-Lancs fixture returned to Hyndburn after a break of two years. The heavy rain ensured there was plenty of mud underfoot and the twisty, narrow woodland course made staying on one’s feet really tricky. Provisional results and championship standings are available on our cross country page.

There were only two ladies running. Carmel Sullivan made a welcome return and was first Wesham finisher in 31 st position, followed by Anne Mayers Smith in 49th position.
In the same race Dave Young was the overall V70 second man. Peter Bartlett, after successful massage to ease a calf injury, lined up to ensure Wesham were the first V70 team.
Unfortunately for Peter, he ran an extra lap as he got caught up in the men’s race and missed the turn-off to the finish.
In the men’s race Dave Taylor making his season’s debut was first home in 43 rd position. Closely behind was Andrew Harling, shrugging off his lack of sleep to finish in 46 th position. Phil Quibell overtook fellow V60 rivals to lead the category before a fall on the last lap resulted in a painful blow on the knee causing him to slip to third in the category and finish in overall 79th place.
Nigel Shepherd made a welcome return to cross country after an absence of several seasons to finish 5 th V60, in 158 th position. John Collier struggled to finish in 165 th position as 7 th V60 but that was sufficient for Wesham to clinch V60 team victory. Steve Myerscough coming back after long term injury battled away to finish in 176 th position. Ben Wrigley gamely wrestled his way through the mud for a sub hour finish in 216 th position.
Thank you and well done to all who took part, and to Alex for his help with tent and as a stand- in marshal.
Provisional Results (note team results are excluded as there are likely to be many changes).
31 Carmel Sullivan L45 6 27:38
49 Anne Mayers-Smith L35 16 29:10
Men V70
2 Dave Young 35:57
5 Peter Bartlett TBC
43 Dave Taylor 41.06
95 Andrew Harling 41:36
79? Phil Quibell V60 3 43:52
158 Nigel Shepherd V60 5 49:37
208 John Collier V60 7 50:34
176 Steve Myerscough V40 55 51:21
216 Ben Wrigley 57:45