Alex’s Newspaper Report

Wesham runners as superheroes; DT and the Gores at Penrhyn Castle for Megan’s 100th parkrun


Monday evening saw the fifth race of this year’s Inter Club Grand Prix, hosted by Wesham at Lea Town with a 4.5 mile circuit around Salwick.

Rob Danson was again a clear winner, stringing out the field with a time of 22:39 and a margin of 42 seconds over second place. Joe Monk was second over the first half finished 3rd in 23:32 just 11 seconds adrift. David Taylor was 14th in 26:03 with Steve Myerscough was 23rd in 26:46 and Lee Barlow 27th with 26:56. Gary Barnett placed 3rd M50 and 35th in 27:24 on the line with Jason Barlow in the same time. Paul Gregory was 42nd with 27:51 and Paul Hetherington 43rd with 27:53, Peter Cruse 58th and 7th M50 in 28:56 closing the Wesham Open team in 2nd place. The Wesham women won the ladies team with Carmel Sullivan and Helen Lawrenson 4th and 5th and 1st and 2nd veterans in 29:51 and 29:59 respectively. Sue Coulthurst was 11th in 31:34; Nicola Unsworth was 16th in 32:56 and Tracey Hulme closed the team in 18th with 33:24. The same team also won the Women’s Veterans category, with the overall veterans team 2nd with Steve Myerscough, Lee Barlow, Garry Barnett, Jason Barlow, Paul Hetherington and peter cruse, with Barnett, Cruse, Carmel Sullivan and alan Hudson (24th and 106th overall in 31:07) finishing 3rd Veterans 50 team. The vet-60 team were 2nd with Hudson 7th, Alan Glasgow 8th and 118th overall (31:35) and Martin Bates 11th and 135th (32:31). Arran Galvin was 60th with 28:58; Mark Belfield 66th in 29:09; Carl Groome 87th in 30:02; Mark Renshall 89th with 30:06; Elliott Costello 122nd in 31:51; Lee Nixon 142nd in 32:52; Nigel Shepherd 152nd with 33:28; Stephen Browne 162nd in 34:04; Phil Leaver 179th in 34:56; Graham Brook 187th in 35:15; Alan Taylor 190th with 35:23 and Peter Rooney 191st in 35:25. Wesham had 57 runners 17 of these women as well as the members marshalling and officiating.


Helen Lawrenson finished 2nd woman and 1st W45 in the 3rd race of this year’s Horwich Jubilee 5 series, clocking 34:40 over the undulating two lap course. Nicola Unsworth was 13th woman and 4th W45 in 39:02, 49th overall, and Alan Taylor finished 57th in 41:27.


In the Towneley Park 10k in Burnley on Sunday Kath Hoyer was 14th woman and 2nd W55 in 51:10, 121st overall with Alan Taylor 137th in 53:03. Dave Waywell was 3rd M70 and 178th overall in 58:53.


Garry Barnett won the Scorton Supper Run on Thursday evening, running 28:59 for the undulating circuit. Lee Nixon was 17th in 36:07; Alan Taylor 26th in 37:59 and Gemma Owen returning from a lay-off with 46:56 for 68th, 32nd woman.


Sarah Sherratt ran the Snowdon Mountain Race, a ten-mile round jaunt up and down the main track from Llanberis. She finished 39th woman and 3rd W45 in 1:44:54, having made the summit at 3300ft climb in 1:08:50, clocking an excellent descent in 36:04. She finished 274th overall having been 289th at the summit.


Carl Groome headed a good Wesham show at the Lytham Hall parkrun on Saturday morning, completing the 4-lap 5km in 19:36 for an M45 age-graded performance of 74.06%, a new personal best. Stuart Topping also ran a best time of 20:27, M45 69.85%. Sharon Cooper came home with 23:11 for W40 67.86%, and Michaela Dempsey 24:16 for W50 69.92%. Phil Leaver got M60 67.87% with a time of 24:29; Robert Brown M60 59.20% with 27:05; Graham Cunliffe M60 57.32% running 28:14. Debbie Bell clocked 29:39 for W40 53.06%; Lynn Brown 34:13 with W55 52.90%; Louisa Flower 34:42 for W55 51.49%; John McKeown 37:19 and M35 35.55%. At the Penrhyn parkrun at Bangor in North Wales Megan Gore ran her 100th parkrun in 35:02 for JW10 48.72% accompanied by David Taylor (35:00), Vicky Gore (35:02) and Steven Gore (35:04) all dressed in superhero costumes with the stunning backdrop of Penrhyn Castle. In the Blackpool run James Mulvany as 3rd fastest of the day with 18:17 for M35 74.11%; Peter Cruse 19:56 for M50 76.42%; Helen Lawrenson 2nd fastest woman with 20:28 (W45 79.15%); Mark Renshall 20:47 (M40 67.68%, new personal best); John Bertenshaw 20:55 (M60 77.37%); Elliott Costello 21:33 (59.86% PB); Jonathan Lawson 22;19 (M45 65.57% PB); Nicola Unsworth 22:38 (W45 71.58%); Rob Wallace 24:30 (52.65% PB); Chris Pike 24:33 (M40 56.42% PB); Dave Young 26:00 (M65 67.05%); and Finlay McCalman 27:00 (M50 55.71% PB) .