Alex’s Newspaper Report.

Dave Young in the finishing straight at the Witton Trail Relays

Wesham had a very successful evening in the fourth round of the Inter Club Grand Prix on Tuesday evening, hosted by Thornton at Anchorsholme. They won the Open, M40 and W40 team categories and were 2nd in the Ladies, M50s and M60s teams. Individually Rob Danson was dominant from the gun with another win and opened up a lead of 1 min 25secs to cross the line first with a time of 25:43 for the undulating 5 mile course along the cliff top to Ginn Square and back along the Promenade. James Mulvany was 9th in 28:37 with David Taylor 11th with an excellent run of 28:54. Steve Waterhouse was 14th in 29:18 with Lee Barlow running well for 19th in 29:43. Paul Gregory was next with 30:14 for 28th; Gary Barnett 31st in 30:31; Steve Myerscough 34th in 30:42; Les Cornwall 35th with 30:50 and Jason Barlow 38th in 31:01. Carmel Sullivan was 5th woman and 70th overall in 33:00; Helen Lawrenson 6th in 33:28, 78th overall; Nicola Unsworth 11th and 105th in 35:27; Tracey Hulme 18th and 142nd in 37:33 and Jenny Salt 22nd and 151st completing the ladies team with 38:00. The same ladies made up the winning W40 team while the M40s comprised Waterhouse 4th; L Barlow 7th, Barnett 11th, Myerscough 14th, J Barlow 16th and Paul Hetherington, 18th and 41st overall in 31:16. The M50 team was Barnett 4th, Peter Cruse 6th and 56th overall in 32:07; Carmel Sullivan 19th and John Collier 11th and 72nd in 33:05. The M60 team were Collier 3rd, John Bertenshaw 4th and 86th in 33:59 and Alan Hudson 6th and 97th with 34:55. Numbers continued high with 316 runners and Wesham had 57 members competing with 15 women.


The second big event of the week for Wesham as the Witton Trail Relays on Thursday evening with Wesham fielding 18 3-man teams, a total of 56 club members taking part. The Men’s A team were first to finish in 32nd place overall in a total time of 55:14 for the total distance of 11km and 450m climb up Billinge Hill and down, with David Taylor, Lee Barlow and Steven Gore. The Men’s B team (Jason Barlow, Steve Myerscough and Mark Bellfield were 39th in 56:39, with the Men’s D team (Simon Eaton, Nigel Shepherd and Jason Blagden) beating the C team (Steven Gore, Simon Denye and John Collier) in 59:09 over 1:00:29 in 55th and 62nd places. The women’s A team (Helen Lawrenson, Sue Coulthurst and Carmel Sullivan) were 10th female and 6th senior ladies, 72nd overall in 1:01:49 also winning the Female Veteran team, with the B team (Nicola Unsworth, Sarah Sherratt and Tracey Hulme) 15th and 86th with 1:05:32. The women’s D team were 116th in 1:12:25 (Vicky Gore, Kath Hoyer and Sharon Cooper). Men’s G team 79th in 1:04:28 (Garry Barnett, Alan Taylor, Stuart Topping); Men’s E 89th in 1:06:45 (George Kennedy, Rob Danson Snr, Carl Groome); Men’s H 94th 1:07:43 (Martin Bates, Alan Glasgow, Russell Mabbett); Mixed M 104th in 1:09:38 (Elliott Costello, Vicky Birkett, Helen Lawrenson); Men’s K 107th in 1:10:36 (Phil Leaver, Peter Bartlett, Roger Leadbeater); Men’s L 108th in 1:10:56 (Ryan Azzopardi, Ben Wrigley, Lee Nixon); Men’s I 125th in 1:17:03 (Chris Moss, Finlay McCalman, Rob Wallace); Men’s F 131st 1:18:51 (Paul Hetherington, Graham Vickers, Michael Kearney); Ladies E 136th 1:23:26 (Tanya Barlow, Debbie Myerscough, Anne Berry); and Ladies F 140th 1:32:04 (Sue Rigby, Julie Rooney, Caz Wadsworth). David Taylor ran the fastest stage in 16:57 with Garry Barnett 18:13 and Steve Myerscough 18:15. Helen Lawrenson ran 20:23 with Sue Coulthurst 20:26 and Sarah Sherratt 20:51 for the 3.65km loop (150m climb each).


There was a good show of Wesham members at the Trawden 7 Trail Race on Sunday, in the club trail championship. Garry Barnett was the fastest in 37th place with 48:14; Paul Hetherington was 50th in 49:51 and Steven Gore 67th with 51:35. Helen Lawrenson was 13th woman and 132nd in 55:52, 2nd W45 while Kath Hoyer was 31st and 3rd W55 in 1:01:44, 179th overall. Jen Salt was 46th and 207th in 1:05:41. Alan Taylor was 198th with 1:04:17; Dave Young 5th M65 and 217th in 1:06:57; Vicky Gore was 58th and 230th overall in 1:08:44; Anne Berry 66th and 243rd in 1:10:48; Caz Wadworth 81st and 265th in 1:15:26; Dave Waywell 3rd M70 and 267th with 1:15:41 and Debbie Myerscough 86th and 275th in 1:17:01.


Steve Myerscough ran 18:19 in the second Catforth 5k on Saturday to finish 8th, with Paul Gregory hot on his heels in 9th place with 18:34. Peter Cruse was 11th in 19:21, 1st M50, and Jason Blagden 14th in 19:46. Stuart Topping was 20th with 20:26 and Elliott Costello 21st in 20:48. Nicola Unsworth was 4th woman and 1st W45 in 21:40; George Kennedy 25th in 21:48, 2nd M55; Paul Eccles 29th with 24:23; Pauline Eccleston 6th woman and 30th in 25:21.


Ugis Datavs ran the Ultimate Trails 110km event from Ambleside coming in 66th in 17:32:15 despite going badly off course at one stage and adding on quite a bit of distance. Simon Eaton ran the 55km distance and he finished 78th in 8:11:12.


There were three Wesham members in the second Harrock Hill race on Wednesday evening; Steve Myerscough was 50th in 43:21 for the 5.5 miles and 900ft climb; with Caz Wadsworth and Debbie Myerscough running together 166th and 167th in 71:03. Graham Vickers ran the Lostock Hall 5k on Saturday in 26:21 for 117th place.


Carl Groome ran 20:08 in this week’s Lytham Hall parkrun for an age graded performance of 72.10%. John Bertenshaw had an M60 performance of 80.05% with a time of 20:13, a new personal best, and Ben Wrigley M35 55.51% in 23:54. Phil Leaver clocked 24:45 for M60 66.04% with Peter Rooney 25:05 for M55 62.86%. Kay Twist ran 26:33 for W45 61.02%; Finlay McCalman 27:40 with M50 54.64%; Stephen Twist 27:51 for M50 52.96%; Julie Rooney 29:09 with W40 53.57%; and Debbie Bell W40 53.48% with 29:25. In the Preston run Nigel Shepherd recorded 20:45 for M55 76.63% with Robert Brown 25:40 for M55 61.95% and Lynn Brown 35:39 for W55 50.77%. At Pendle parkrun tourists David Taylor ran the day’s fastest time of 18:24 for 70.29%; Steven Gore M35 62.19% with 21:20; Megan Gore JW10 44.10% with 38:42 and Vicky Gore 38:43. Helen Lawrenson ran the Blackpool run in 21:10, the fastest women’s time of the day for W45 76.54%; Chris Pike 25:00 for M40 55.40% and Kerry Eccles W55 64.81% with 27:34.